At its recent annual corporate meeting, the Allan Hancock College Foundation renewed terms for 10 directors, elected six new directors and chose new officers for 2011.

New members elected to the foundation board include Santa Maria residents Patrick Sheehy, owner of Los Padres Berry Farms and a third generation strawberry grower; Hilda Zacarias, owner of Hilda Zacarias, M.P.A. & Associates; Mary K. Nanning, a USAF retired lieutenant colonel; and Sandy Carty, a city resident since 1962 with a long history of leadership on many Santa Maria nonprofit boards.

From Lompoc, R. Bruce Coggin was elected to his first term.  An alumnus of Allan Hancock College, he currently is the manager of health and safety services for World Minerals, Inc., and oversees 13 locations in North America.

Santa Ynez Valley resident Jose Escobedo was also elected to his first term.  He is a former vice-chancellor for human resources with the University of California and the University of Nevada, and human resources director for the Chumash Casino.

Members returning for additional terms include Santa Ynez Valley resident Leslie Zomalt, Ph.D., a retired university faculty and administrator who began her career as a tenured faculty member at Allan Hancock College; and Santa Maria residents Terry Dworaczyk, Ed.D.; financial planner with Ameriprise Financial Services; Susan Moats, manager, Moats Laser and Skin Care; Dr. Dennis Shepard, retired ophthalmologist; Tom Lopez, structural/civil engineer; Patrick McDermott, CPA; and Roger Welt, Ed.D., retired Allan Hancock College administrator.  Also returning are Lompoc resident Mary Harvey, retired Allan Hancock College academic counselor; and Pismo Beach resident Jeff York, CEO of CoastHills Federal Credit Union.

Elected officers for 2011 are Mario Juarez, president; John Everett, vice president; Maggi Daane, secretary; and Terry Dworaczyk, treasurer.  Juarez, a Santa Maria resident and attorney/partner with Brenneman, Juarez & Adam, is entering his second year as president.  Santa Maria residents Everett, an agency owner, Allstate Insurance, and Daane, a retired public relations/protocol officer with Lockheed Martin Corporation, are serving their second terms as vice president and secretary, respectively.  Dworaczyk is serving his first term as treasurer.

Other business at the meeting included recognition of two board members leaving the board as Emeritus Directors, a new board designation for those who have exemplified extraordinary service to the board.  The two honored were Mike Gibson and Ron Thatcher, each having given nine years of service to the board.  Thatcher also served as president of the board during his tenure.

The board also voted to accept the resignation of Gregory A. Pensa, who retires after nine years of service to the board.  Mr. Pensa is the newest member of the college’s board of trustees.

Allan Hancock College Foundation Executive Director Jeff Cotter says the mission of the foundation is to support student and faculty academic pursuits.  “The most important role we play as a foundation is to support our college by bringing in critically needed financial resources to provide more scholarships for deserving and qualified students, to support our faculty and to assist the